Dusting Off My Guitar!

So roughly, 3 weeks ago, I picked up my guitar that was always lonely in the corner of my room, and just started to play it. I didn’t know what the hell I was doing, I just razzle-dazzled. And I actually got a good feeling off of doing it. I bought it in my sophomore year of highschool (I’m a senior now), and I began playing it for like 2 weeks, but I was going nowhere, so I just decided to quit for a while. Now more than a year later…..it’s time to stroke some strings again!

You know those burning issues when you first start playing guitar? Like your finger tips hurting, how to strum correctly, getting your fretting fingers to not touch other strings, and tuning your guitar? They’ve all gotten to me, and boy did I want to just quit right there. But I was like “No, not again”. So I just kept playing.

Eventually, I discovered that you develop calluses on your fingertips the more you play guitar, and they help to ease the pain when you press down on the strings by a ton, or outright eliminate it. My ”guitar-fingers” are roughly 3 weeks old now, and I’m pretty sure I’m starting to get calluses, which is a definite plus!

I found a site called ”ultimateguitar.com” and I’ve been getting lessons and tips there ever since. It’s a really great help. I’ve also gotten the help of the all-famous and powerful Youtube, and I’ve looked up a lot of keys, chords, songs and such. I’ve come across some really great guitar artists and bands like: Meghan Tonjes (I love her now :p), Woody Mann (Man, that guy’s arpeggios go unbeaten), Guns n Roses, etc. I love that there are other amateur guitarists out there like me.

Getting the chords down was hard at first, but now I can remember a good chunk of them by heart. E major/minor, A major/minor, D major/minor, G major, and C major are the chords I’ve gotten down so far. Now I’m practicing switching between them as quick as I can so I can put together some songs.

All hail my aunt for getting me a guitar book, and thus a very good source of beginner lessons!

Some day, I will be making my own original songs! One step at a time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

